Home > Uncategorized > The Fear

The Fear

It was my 23rd birthday today and to be honest it’s scaring the hell out of me. As I’m getting closer to the end of my bachelor degree I can feel “the fear” growing in me. something that I call graduation crisis. And the fact that I’m only getting my first university degree at this age doesn’t help at all. I started a Electrical Engineering BSc in Iran back in 2006, right after I finished high school. but after two years I realised I wasn’t enjoying it. Not only I didn’t like the university and the number of close minded people around me  I wasn’t even liking the course. So I made a big decision. I quit. I simply threw away two years of my life (no need to mention all the hard work I did to get into that university). I quit, not only from my course or my university but also from my country. And I started it all over again. Electronics and Computing Eng, was indeed a great choice of course and despite a few rather stupid decisions that our school made (which I believe happens everywhere) I did enjoy doing it. But now, all I’m thinking of is “what’s next?” . Now I do have a long term plan (dream?) and that is Silicon Valley. but it seems very far from me. Holding an Iranian passport does limit my options. I have a PhD offer but they want me to pay £48k for it while they’d pay a home student more than that to do the same research. I think I will have to reject the offer. I’ve applied for some summer, 12month internships as well as master degrees and I have no bloody clue what I will be doing next year.

I’ve been taken over by “the fear”.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

